Project MC2 H20 Nail Science Review

We’re quite loyal fans to the Project MC2 brand in our home, and have enjoyed reviewing plenty of dolls and sets such as the Ultimate Spy Bag and Devon’s Puffy Paint Doll. Abby was keen to try out the Project MC2 H20 Nail Science kit recently. She has been bugging me for false nails through the holidays so I thought this would be a great compromise.

Project MC2 H20 Nail Science

You can buy the Project Mc2 Nail Science Kit here

What’s Inside the Project MC2 H20 Nail Science Box?

Included in the Project MC2 H20 Nail Science box is the base unit which acts as a nail air dryer, and also provides the vibrations to move the nail polish around in water. You receive four pipettes, three stands for nail polish, a stirrer, pot, three sets of white nails and nail stickers to attach to nails.

Project MC2 H20 Nail Science

How To Use

The assembly of the base is easy, just by slotting the stands into the base and adding 3xAA batteries (not included). Once the unit is assembled, select two or three of your own nail polishes and pop them in the stands provided without their lids.

Turn the unit on, and fill the pot three quarters full with water. The light will change colour telling you the unit is on correctly. The instructions suggest adding the nails to your hands before applying the polish in the water. We found however it was a little easier to almost do the process backwards by adding the nails to the mixture and letting dry before attaching to our nails.

The process of adding the nail polish needs to be done quickly before it dries, as then it can become a little sticky and messy. You will need nail polish remover to hand, and it’s suggested that fingers are taped if you’re applying the plain nails to your hands before dipping into the water.

Taking  pipette, add one drop of nail varnish to the water, quickly add a different colour and use the stirrer to play with the design in the water. Then it’s time to place your nails into the water to give them a funky design.

Project MC2 H20 Nail Science

What Abby Thought

This is a fun way to create different coloured nails. It is a bit messy and it’s better to tape your fingers before dipping the nails into the water. You have to be really quick otherwise it goes a bit clumpy and sticky. The patterns in the water are cool and the nails are a lovely colour.

I liked the length of the nails as well and they looked good on me. The air dryer is great, I’ve always wanted one of those.

Check out prices for Project MC2 Nail Science Kit 

What I Thought

As a parent, I actually thought this set was quite fun. I would suggest a couple of tweaks to the instructions to save some mess and make the process a little easier. Once you have used the pipettes they almost have to go in the bin as it’s not very easy to clean dried nail polish from the inside of a pipette. I would suggest not using the pipettes and letting a drop of nail polish fall from the brush of the polish.

I would also suggest either using a lot of tape as Abby mentioned above, or attaching the nails to an orange stick or something similar with some tape and dipping into the water that way. This could then become a very mess free activity.

To dry the nails you can use the nail drying area at the front of the unit, press down with your hand to activate the air. This will come in handy for drying normal nails for Abby as well in the future.

Project MC2 H20 Nail Science

I found a good price on the Project MC2 Nail Science Kit here

More of our Project MC2 reviews include Devon’s Puffy Paint Doll and the Ultimate Spy Bag

**We received a nail science kit free of charge, all opinions are our own**

 

Share:

62 Comments

  1. Tracy Nixon
    August 15, 2017 / 11:08 am

    Pale pink for the Spring and Summer, red for the festive season and natural for anytime!

  2. Kirsty Greer
    August 15, 2017 / 11:33 am

    Would like a creamy, pink colour for the print, a darker pink with brown tones for the autumn and a deep plum or purple for the winter xx

  3. Emily Hutchinson
    August 15, 2017 / 12:27 pm

    blue green and silver, because I think this would look really cool and spacey!

  4. joannne darnell
    August 15, 2017 / 3:08 pm

    i like natural

  5. Annabel Greaves
    August 15, 2017 / 4:18 pm

    My daughter would love to choose pink. purple and silver

  6. Kim Styles
    August 15, 2017 / 6:21 pm

    Turquoise for my birth stone, blue as it is my favourite colour and pink for my daughters favourite colour

  7. Michelle Ferguson
    August 15, 2017 / 7:23 pm

    Pastel pink as it looks good with a tan in the summer, purple for the winter and sparkly red for Christmas

  8. Rachel Craig
    August 15, 2017 / 7:34 pm

    Red, pink, and sparkly blue.

    • Rachel Craig
      August 15, 2017 / 7:36 pm

      Colours I chose are pretty, and blend in with many outfits, occasions etc.

  9. zoe brown
    August 15, 2017 / 8:33 pm

    lilac silver and black

  10. August 15, 2017 / 10:04 pm

    I would choose pink, blue and lime green as they remind me of my holidays

  11. Solange
    August 15, 2017 / 10:13 pm

    Pale pink for when I’m feeling girly, red for when I’m feeling sexy and black for when I’m feeling moody.

  12. Nicoe
    August 15, 2017 / 10:39 pm

    I think my daughter would go crazy for this. I am not so keen lol

  13. Kayleigh Watkins
    August 15, 2017 / 11:17 pm

    I wear three colours on my nails, the are turquoise (my favourite colour) a dark grey (I always wear black) and navy as it goes with my jeans, I do wear brighter colours if I’m wearing summery clothes but usually stick to those colours xXx

  14. Sarah Fielding
    August 16, 2017 / 2:13 am

    Blue, black and red definitely – as they are pretty much the only colours I stick with!

  15. Catherine McAlinden
    August 16, 2017 / 6:43 am

    Gold, silver and bronze, as my daughter likes anything shiny and sparkly.

  16. Emma h
    August 16, 2017 / 7:53 am

    My daughter has asked for something that’ll either make rainbow nail patterns or sparkly fairy nails!

  17. Jade Hewlett
    August 16, 2017 / 10:29 am

    Pink, yellow and green as they’re nice summery colours

  18. sarah rees
    August 16, 2017 / 11:19 am

    my daughter would love blue, white and red. her fave colours

  19. melanie stirling
    August 16, 2017 / 1:54 pm

    Blue,purple and pink because they are my favourite colours.

  20. Lindsey Smith
    August 16, 2017 / 3:59 pm

    Red, green and gold – because it’s almost Christmas right? 🙂

  21. Lorna Ledger
    August 16, 2017 / 5:24 pm

    Turquoise, midnight blue and silver, I think they would look very pretty together and peaceful, a bit like the galaxies!

  22. Isabel O
    August 16, 2017 / 6:00 pm

    I would probably choose red, pink and blue, so I would have a colour for every sort of occasion and time of year.

  23. Rebecca Sutton
    August 16, 2017 / 11:25 pm

    red, teal and nude, as they all look lovely when painted on.

  24. Kay Sherman
    August 17, 2017 / 8:58 pm

    Gold bronze and silver I love Metallics

  25. August 17, 2017 / 9:27 pm

    I’d choose pink for Lily, Red for me and Orange for Chloe – then we’re all happy x

  26. rebecca smith
    August 18, 2017 / 8:42 am

    baby blue, pink and yellow all my favourite colours all look fab together

  27. August 18, 2017 / 11:39 am

    I would choose a turquoise, a deep purple and a navy! xx

  28. Kim Neville
    August 19, 2017 / 5:22 pm

    I always like coral red as suits me the most, a glittery silver colour and a natural shade

  29. caroline kelly
    August 19, 2017 / 10:28 pm

    Entering for my daughter, she would choose pink, purple and blue

  30. August 20, 2017 / 11:02 am

    Coral, grey & sparkly silver – the way my nails are now! They look awesome!

  31. Ruth Harwood
    August 21, 2017 / 11:20 am

    pink, purple and silver, they go together quite perfectly!! and are our fave colours!

  32. Aimee
    August 21, 2017 / 3:57 pm

    My daughter says she would pick Blue, Green and Purple because they’re her favourite colours.

  33. Joanna Ford
    August 22, 2017 / 11:03 am

    Rose gold, dusky pink and ivory as they are the theme for my wedding!

  34. Natalie Crossan
    August 22, 2017 / 11:08 pm

    Baby pink as it’s my favourite colour x

  35. Angie McDonald
    August 24, 2017 / 2:49 am

    Black, Green and Pink – my 3 favourite colours to paint my nails when I was a teen! I just love the way the green and pink stands out from the black

  36. BECCA STAPLES
    August 25, 2017 / 11:21 am

    Gold, silver and grey, all the colours to make something sparkly and magical x

  37. Rebecca Howells (@PeanutHog)
    August 25, 2017 / 5:11 pm

    Gold, silver and a rainbow one!

  38. Melissa Lee
    August 26, 2017 / 8:51 am

    I really love darker colours as it gets into autumn so would pick a dark red and a dark blue, but it’s nice to have a pale colour to lighten things up so would also go for a nude pink for special occasions

  39. MchelleD
    August 26, 2017 / 12:09 pm

    I’d choose my favourite colours- turquoise, hot pink and black

  40. dana
    August 26, 2017 / 7:58 pm

    red, pink and blue

  41. Sheri Darby
    August 26, 2017 / 9:13 pm

    Red, Maroon and tan

  42. Rachael Mccadden
    August 27, 2017 / 1:36 pm

    black, red and purpple. my fav colour

  43. Dawn Andrews
    August 27, 2017 / 2:51 pm

    Baby blue, pink and green – I love those colours.

  44. Doreen Mccarthy
    August 27, 2017 / 8:11 pm

    Pink, Purple and blue, my daughter’s favourite’s

  45. Sharon Burroughs
    August 27, 2017 / 8:39 pm

    Red, pink and blue as they are my favourite colours.

  46. jacqui rushton
    August 28, 2017 / 3:42 am

    Dark red because it is classy, dark purple because it is a real statement and pale pink for the summer months!

  47. Caroline Signey
    August 28, 2017 / 8:48 am

    Red white and blue for the uk flag colours

  48. Charlie Lovatt
    August 28, 2017 / 10:46 am

    Red, black and purple. Just because they’re my favourite

  49. Fiona Johnstone
    August 28, 2017 / 10:52 am

    I like pale pink. Looks nice with a sun tan

  50. Fiona Johnstone
    August 28, 2017 / 10:52 am

    I like pale pink. Looks nice with a sun tan

  51. Jayne Kelsall
    August 28, 2017 / 12:50 pm

    Mine would be Purple, pink and turquoise as these are my favourite 3 colours .x

  52. nicky pearce
    August 28, 2017 / 2:16 pm

    Blue, black and red, my other half prefers those colours

  53. Michelle Stewart
    August 28, 2017 / 2:22 pm

    My daughter would choose pink with sparkles

  54. Teresa sheldon
    August 28, 2017 / 2:40 pm

    Red, purple and pink

  55. katrina adams
    August 28, 2017 / 3:21 pm

    Red, Green and White ready for the festive season, which I love all year round heheeh

  56. sharon martin
    August 28, 2017 / 5:04 pm

    turquoise, silver and purple as they are my favourite colours

  57. Karen Dixon
    August 28, 2017 / 6:23 pm

    purple, pink and red as they are my fav colours

  58. Hayley Todd
    August 28, 2017 / 6:38 pm

    I would choose pastel pink, coral and pink glittery nail varnish as they are my favourite colours to wear during the summer, as they look great with a tan!

  59. Jodie A Green
    August 28, 2017 / 8:31 pm

    Purple, silver and Ivory – They were the colours we had for our wedding 🙂

  60. Sammi-jo Headley
    August 28, 2017 / 9:34 pm

    I would be pink, Red and Blue all bright colours and use in anywhere thank for the chance

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.